Season of mists

October 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

One of those nights last week, poets in the pub, books on the table.  One of us reads (shouts, over the guy behind us) love poems (off his i-phone) by Glyn Maxwell and Derek Walcott.  It’s only on the way home that I remember it’s National Poetry Day.

I’ve never been a fan, really, of these things.  Okay, it’s not Hate Week; but to me it’s just a tiny bit like someone ringing you to offer the latest Great Deal.  I like a deal – but I like to find it myself, when I want.  As it happened, I was in a poetry mood on 4th October this year: but we also talked about Thatcher, and didn’t feel pressured to come up with anything more lyrical than Ding, dong, the witch is dead.

On the way home, however, a friend and I talked a bit about Ann Atkinson: a summer’s afternoon when the three of us sat in her garden going through the manuscript of my first collection.  It was a big moment for me, and I needed two people as generous as Ann and Jim to help with the wood and the trees.  I remember Jim and I favoured one poem to open the collection, Ann another.  She was graciously outvoted – but probably, I think now, right.  The slightness of the poem worried me; but Ann thought it tonally right as an introduction.  I can’t do justice to the way she argued this: it was about voice, the breathed gesture.  Unfortunately, I was too focused on subject and sense.

Four years down the track.  Ann died earlier this year – a massive loss to many people, as has been said elsewhere.  The other night, and in these last few bright, waning days since, I’ve gone back to that afternoon, to the best, wisest teacher, her gentle, utter conviction.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Season of mists at Rob Hindle.

meta

